General information

The Republic of Karakalpakstan is an autonomous part of the Republic of Uzbekistan and is located in the north-west of the country.

The area of ​​Karakalpakstan is 165 thousand square meters. km, which is 40% of the area of ​​the entire state. In the north and east, the Autonomous Republic borders with Kazakhstan, in the south with Turkmenistan. Most of the territory of Karakalpakstan is occupied by the Ustyurt Plateau, the Aral Sea and the Kyzyl Kum desert.



Languages: Uzbek and Karakalpak.

The capital: Nukus (Nokis).

The population is about 1.5 million people.

The climate is continental. The winter is cold, the summer is hot and arid.

People in the territory of Karakalpakstan lived in the Neolithic era. This is evidenced by archaeological researches.

In the II — VI centuries AD as a result of the assimilation of the nomadic Turkic and indigenous Saki population, two new ethnic communities emerged – Oguz and Pechenegs, which became the basis of the ethnic formation of the Karakalpak people. Karakalpak statehood was formed under the leadership of Edyge in the Nogai Khanate (end of the XIV century). After his death in 1419, the Khanate lost its power and was divided into three parts – the Horde of six uluses, the Small Horde and the Great Horde. At the beginning of the 17th century, the Karakalpaks, who were part of the Horde of six uluses, settled in the Aral Sea region. 

By the beginning of the 18th century, the Karakalpaks living on the shores of the Syr Darya, under the leadership of Echkimkhan, united into the Karakalpak Khanate. The borders of the state passed along the upper reaches of the Syr Darya. The state adjoined the Volga Kalmyks, the Bashkir ulus and the Kazakh Junior Zhuz.

In 1723, as a result of the attack of the Kalmyks, the Karakalpaks were forced to flee. There was a division of the Karakalpaks into 2 groups. The first group went to the upper reaches of the Syr Darya, and the second group settled along the lower reaches of the Syr Darya.

Until 1873, the territory of Karakalpakstan was part of the Khiva Khanate, and after the establishment of Soviet power in 1918, it was part of the Khorezm people’s Soviet Republic and the Turkestan Autonomous Soviet Socialist Republic.

Today Karakalpakstan is a sovereign state within the Republic of Uzbekistan. He has his flag, emblem, anthem. It consists of 15 districts, 12 cities, 16 villages and 112 villages. State power in each district is represented by a hakim. On the territory of modern Karakalpakstan there are over 300 archaeological sites.

Berdah Museum
State Museum of Arts after Savitsky
Karakalpak branch of the Academy of Arts of Uzbekistan
Karakalpak State Local History Museum
Shamuratovs House Museum


Start typing and press Enter to search