The Ulugbek madrassah in Bukhara is one of the earliest of the buildings, the donator of which was Mirzo Ulugbek (1394-1449). It was completed in 1417. It is not known whether he was present at the opening of this madrassah in Samarkand. Ulugbek, according to historian Abdurazzak as-Samarkandi, visited his madrassah in month Zu-l-qa’da (November 1419) during the trip to Bukhara.
Here is what the author writes about it: “Shahzadi Ulugbek on the third of Zulka’da AH 822(November 28, 1419) deigned to visit madrassah, located within the city of Bukhara and built because of his extraordinary generosity. Generously endowing students and other worthy people (Mudarises) went to Samarkand…” The chief architect is the builder of madrassah Isma’il the son of Tahir, the son clearly legible corporate nickname Wizard (bina’yi, i.e. “a builder and architect”), indicating the traditional family profession.
Ulugbek madrassah was repaired more than once during its operation. The first repair was made by the order of Shaybani ruler Ubaydullah-khan (1533 – 1539), as it was evidenced by historian and chronicler and poet of that time Khissari. The eminent scholars, poets and calligraphers taught in the Ulugbek madrassah when Khan and his son Abdalaziz(1539 -1549) ruled.
After some time in 1586 there was another repair (apparently large), which was even written on the entrance portal of madrasah about. This inscription is given here from archival photo, since during the last restoration it was destroyed. Further repairs of the madrassah were done more than once, which is seen by multi temporal inserts in wall cladding, wherein the color and quality differs from the original décor. Around late 19th – early 20th centuries, there were slight repairs to the hujras, the window frames of which were painted by the Usto Ahmad.
In 1994, for Ulugbek’s jubilee celebrations there was done the following work at the madrassah: the main portal group and the Arabic inscription on kiteb were restored. The tow of majolica was restored. The galleries of the first and the second floors, courtyard and build area within the perimeter of the yard were partly restored. The area with a lowering of the ground surface in front of the main portal was landscaped.