Until the end of the 14th century, the city of Shakhrisabz was called “Kesh”, but this ancient city had other names: “Dilkesh” - “Rejoicing the heart”, “Kubbat al-ilm va al-adab” - “Dome of science and learning”, such a confluence names are not accidental. From ancient times, the city was famous for its scholarship, the spirit of enlightenment, recognized scientists and interpreters of hadiths lived and worked here: the mentor of Amir Temur's father and the commander himself - Shamsiddin Kulol, the famous Muslim scholar-muhaddis and mufassir Abu Abdullo Muhammad ibn Ismail Bukhari, the hadith scholars Abu Muhammad al-Keshey , Abdullah Muhammad as Samarkandy.
In the heart of Shakhrisabz, next to the necropolis of the Barlas nobility of the XIV-XV centuries, there is the Dorut Tillovat ensemble - a memorial complex and an architectural monument. The name of the complex is translated as "House of reflection or meditation", was formed in 1370-1371. Today you can see three buildings of this ensemble - the cathedral mosque and two mausoleums, united by one courtyard. In 1904, the entrance was built - darvozakhona, and in 1917 the yard was equipped with hujras. The memorial complex began to take shape after the death of the famous religious figure Shamsiddin Kulal. The Sufi occupied a high position in society, he bore the title of Amiri Kalol, which means "Great Emir." In addition, Shamsiddin Kulal was the mentor of the Bukhara Sufi teacher Bahauddin Nakshbandi. His activities took place mainly in Nesef (Karshi) and Kesh (Shakhrisabz).
Having a high title, Shamsiddin Kulal led a modest and righteous life, remained in good health and did not want to build a mausoleum for himself at all. He was a simple native of a family of potters. But after his death in 1371, Amir Temur issued a decree on the burial of the sage and ordered the erection of a marble tombstone over him. The burial place of a Sufi leader is an important place of pilgrimage to this day. His burial was discovered by scientists during the clearing of the inside of the tomb. Then fragments of a tombstone were found, decorated with inscriptions and ornaments of the plant world. Near the burial place of Kulal, one can see another burial place, presumably, next to the resting father of Amir Temur.
The second elegant mausoleum was erected in 1437-1438 and is called "Gumbazi-Seyidon" - "The Dome of the Seyids". This mausoleum was built on the site of the cemetery of the Seyid dynasty by order of Ulugbek and was intended for representatives of the Temurid dynasty. Some tombstones of the XV-XVII centuries contain the names of Termez Seyids. Plates from Termez and Kabul were also brought here. The Dorut Tillovat ensemble includes the cathedral mosque Kok-Gumbaz (Blue Dome). The mosque was erected in 1435 on the site of an earlier pre-Mongol building. The Friday Cathedral Mosque stands out for its beauty and architectural decoration. Quotes from the Koran can be seen on the drum of the outer dome. The portal is decorated with geometric ornaments made of brick mosaic. The Dorut Tillovat Ensemble is another reason to see the ancient Shakhrisabz, to get acquainted with the original culture and rich history of the Kashkadarya region.